Local Methodist Church Wants the Infidel to Attend

September 15, 2009 at 4:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

On the day my daughter Allie was born I came home to find this letter. It was from Advance Memorial United Methodist Church. The wanted my family to attend church with them. I guess they didn’t know I am an infidel. Below you will first see the letter they sent me, then below that is my response. I don’t really want them to respond, but if they do you will find it here at americaninfidel.com.

8-25-09

Mr. James A Decker
1204 Some St
Ashland KY 41101

Dear James:

Welcome to the Flatwoods/Ashland Area!
We just learned that you moved into the neighborhood and we trust that you are being welcomed with open arms. It can be a difficult time moving into a new area, learning your way around, enrolling the kids in school, getting to know new people on the job, and a host of other inconveniences.

One of the greatest things that can take place in the life of a family moving into a new area, is to find a church that is warm and accepting. We believe that Advance Memorial United Methodist Church is the kid of church you would enjoy and we want to extend an invitation to you and your family to attend. We are located at 1007 Bellefonte Rd in Flatwoods Ky. (US 23 to Lowes and Hobby Lobby, turn onto the road between them and drive straight till you enter Flatwoods. We are on the right just before the Huddle House restaurant.)

As a church, we are committed to the person of Jesus Christ, and we base our teachings on God’s revealed word, the Bible. It is our desire that people come to place their trust in Christ Jesus to forgive and lead them, and that they grow in the relationship with Him. We seek to provide regular teaching and preaching of the Bible, meaningful times of worship, opportunities for fellowship, prayer, outreach, and numerous other ministries.

Traditional Sunday services are held at 8:30am and 11:00am and a contemporary service with more modern music, is offered at 10:45am. Sunday School begins at 9:30am. For more information about Advance Memorial United Methodist Church, we encourage you to visit http://www.advancechurch.net. We hope that you accept our invitation and come to visit our church, soon! And, if there is any way we can be of service to you, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

In Christ,

Rev. Phill Hogg, Pastor Dave King, Evangelism Chair

Cc: File

Here’s my response:

James A. Decker 1204 Some St Ashland, KY 41101 Rev. Phill Hogg Dave King 1007 Bellefonte Road Flatwoods, KY 41139-4003 Dear Phill and Dave: This letter is in response to the letter that you wrote me welcoming me to the Flatwoods/ Ashland area. I am surprised by the assumptions that you have made about me and my family. This seemed strange to me and I thought I should respond. This letter is not meant to offend you in anyway. I simply want you to understand that there are other points of view and that everyone you send this letter to may not agree with your ideas.

The first assumption you made was that I moved here from another town. We moved to Ashland in June 2007. The second assumption was that I have children old enough to go to school. My children will not be old enough to go to school for a few more years. The third was that I will be starting a new job. I have been at my current job for six months.

The fourth and most surprising assumption you made was that my family and I are Christian. My wife and I are non-believers. I am not sure why you think that finding a church is important to my family. I don’t think you would appreciate me attending your services. I am not a person who hides the fact that I do not believe. I am just as proud of not believing as other people are about believing.

I do not want you to think that I was offended by the letter you sent, but you should now understand why I found it a little strange. I think you should consider writing the letter somewhat differently or not send it at all.

I would like to thank you for your invitation even though we will not be attending your services. In reason, James A. Decker

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

