Why Did President Obama Have To Do That?

March 4, 2009 at 8:29 pm | Posted in Crazy Christian Politicians | Leave a comment

Readers of this blog might know that I was a Boy Scout and that I am not happy with them because they ban Gays and atheists. If you don’t remember you can read that blog post here. Today I would like to talk about Barack Obama accepting the position of “honorary president” of the Boy Scouts of America.

According to this article and this one too, each president has accepted this position since 1910. This was not something I was aware of since my days in scouting. Gay and atheist activist groups had asked the president to not accept the title because of the discrimination issues with the group. He did anyways.

People who know me know that I am a huge Obama fan, but there are a few issues I disagree with him on. This is just another one to add to the list, I guess. The Boy Scouts of American needs to lose their government funding until they start accepting gays and atheists.

Since writing the blog post I wrote back in 2006 about being a Boy Scout myself, there have been some changes. I talked about if I had a son I didn’t think I would want him to join. Well, I have a son now and as of right now I would not want him to be a Boy Scout. I also have signed the petition at scoutingforall.org. I urge you to go to that site and sign the petition.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

