Atheism Does Not Exist, So Says a Bookstore Clerk

December 30, 2008 at 9:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I went to Borders, a book store in the Huntington Mall, today and I bought a book. I like that bookstore because they have a good selection of books on computers and atheism. Today I went to the atheism section to see if they had any copies of Atheist Universe by David Mills. David Mills is from Huntington, WV and I really enjoyed his book. Borders did not have a copy of his book, but they had Atheism: A Very Short Introduction. While in college I had to buy a few of the “A Very Short Introduction” books. I thought they were well written and not biased. The other ones that I have are about Theology, Buddhism, and Islam. So I grabbed the book and headed to a cash register.

I laid the book on the counter. The man behind the counter asked me if I had a Borders Credit Card. I told that I didn’t have one and didn’t need one. That’s where the conversation took a turn for the worst. He looked at the book and then looked a me and said, “You know that there is no such thing as atheism, don’t you?” I was shocked, because I have bought plenty of books like that in that store and other stores and no one ever says anything. I said, “Yes, atheism does exist.” So now he assumes I am an atheist (and well of course he’s right). He then tells me that I believe in “nothing”. I have to admit was not prepared for this discussion, but I told him that I did believe in something, I said, “I believe there is no god.”

I think a said a couple more things, but he didn’t seem to want to listen to what I had to say. He wanted to argue and I didn’t, so I left. I started walking towards the door and my wife was right behind me with our son in the stroller. The man followed us and continued to preach at me. The last thing we heard him say was that I had to be a Daoist, because I believe in nothing which is something. The argument didn’t make any sense.

When I got home I went to the Borders website and found their “contact us form”. I didn’t do a lot of complaining, I just wanted them to know what happened. I don’t know if they will contact me, but they have my email address and phone number. If they contact me I will definitely update this blog.

Here is the message I sent to Borders:

I visited your store today in the Huntington Mall in Barboursville WV. I found a book I wanted to purchase and walked up to a cash register. A man asked me if I had a Borders Card and I said “no” and that I didn’t need one. He then started to talk about the book I purchased. The book is called, Atheism: A Very Short Introduction by Julian Baggini. He then began to criticize me for purchasing that book. He told me hat there was no such thing as atheism. I told him that there was and I am an atheist. He wanted to argue and I didn’t. He then started telling me how I believe and got it all wrong. I tried to walk away and he continued to preach at me. I walked out of the store and he was still talking to me. This employee was just rude. I have purchased several books like this in your store and nothing like this has ever happened before today. His employee number is 00470.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

