Barack Obama Came to Portsmouth and I Was There!

October 15, 2008 at 12:00 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

On Thursday, October 9th, Barack Obama came to Portsmouth, OH and the infidel was there. Portsmouth is about 35 miles from Ashland, KY. I heard that he was coming on WSAZ, the local NBC station. They said that he would be at Shawnee State University, the gates would open at 5:30, pm and that the program would start at 7:30 pm. My wife wanted to get there early, but I didn’t want to. We have 10 month old boy who would have to go with us and I didn’t want to keep him out all day. He loves to be at outdoor events and people, so we thought he would be okay. We didn’t get there too early. We got in an extremely long line at 5:05 pm.

The line started moving about 5:30 pm when the gates opened. We got inside the gates around 6:00 or 6:15 pm. We found a good place to stand. The program started at 7:30. There were a few speakers off and on, but not Barack Obama Then finally at 8:55 pm Barack Obama finally walked out on the stage and the crowd went crazy. By this time Austin was tired and moody. We were a little too close to the speakers and Austin didn’t like that.

One of the speakers lead us in the Pledge of Allegiance. As you can imagine, I am not a big fan of the current state of the Pledge. So when I recited the Pledge I said, “One nation, Indivisible.” I said it loud and proud. I just can’t say under god. That wouldn’t make sense. My wife said that the woman beside me heard me and seemed a little offended. I didn’t notice.

Obama spoke for about 30 minutes on outsourcing jobs and the economy. It was all the same stuff I have heard him say before. Being a part of the crowd was great. I seemed to fit in with my Barack Obama for President visor. He is probably the most motivational speaker I have ever heard. I am glad that he is going to be our next president. If he comes to your area you should go hear him.

After four and half hours of standing, I told my wife it was absolutely worth it. Neither one of us had ever done anything like that before. I don’t know if we will ever do it again. We are extremely passionate about this election. At the same time I want to go ahead and vote so it will be over.

Here are a few pictures from the event:

Austin and Ashley
Ashley and Austin at the rally.

Banner behing the stage.
Banner behind the stage.

Barack
Our next president.

Ashley

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

