Russell County High School Students Asks Judge to Stop Prayer At His Graduation

May 17, 2006 at 1:17 am | Posted in Christians Hijacking Graduations, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A high school senior does not want to hear a prayer at his graduation, according to the article at www.lex18.com. I completely understand how he feels. The article does not mention his religious beliefs, but we know he is most likely not a christian. The student and the ACLU have filed suit against the school officals to stop the practice of violating the separation of church and state. Before going to the ACLU he first asked his principal to stop the prayer from happening. The princple did not plan to stop the prayer. I remember that at my high school graduation there was a prayer. The prayer was led by a student but not before or after the ceremony. If I remember correctly the prayer was in the middle of the ceremony. At that time I was not very passionate about the separation of church and state or vocal about it, but I remember thinking it was wrong. I hate it when I am at a nice gathering of people and things are going so great and then some asshole ruins it with prayer. A considerate person would ask if everyone was a christian first. About a week ago I was at such a gathering. I was at a gathering at Berea College, a private christian college, but I know that I wasn’t the only non believer present. Another time, a few months ago my wife and I were at Subway here in Berea. It was on a Sunday at lunch time. This group of people were lead by someone in prayer. This guy was loud enough for everyone in the restraurnt to hear him and disturb their conversations. I thought that group was completely rude. I was talking to my wife and intentionally talking loud enough for them to hear me. I said that they are so rude think everyone wants to hear that. I think they should have eaten at their church if that had to be a part of their meal. I’ll stop ranting now. If I hear any updates on this story you will read about it here at American-Infidel.org.

Ashley Decker

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

