“Smile God Loves You”

February 22, 2006 at 2:13 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

I decided to get a new driver’s license today, because I hadn’t gotten a new one since I moved a year ago. When I went in a lady told me to come over to where she was sitting and she would help me. She asked me to sign a piece of paper and while she was typing in my information from my previous license I noticed something. There were two cameras there, so they could make two licenses at once. On each one was a yellow piece of paper about 4 inches by 4 inches and it read…"Smile God Loves You." That’s right, with a capital "G". I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. The rest of the time it took for her to finish my license I spent thinking about what I was going to say. Once I had the license in hand, I started talking (as nice as I could by the way). I pointed to the sign and said, "I do not believe this sign is appropriate." She asked, "Are you offended?" I said, "Not everybody believes that way." She asked, "Are you offended?" This time she was starting to get angry with me. I thought for about half a second, it seemed like a long time. I said, "Yes, I am." Getting even angrier she asked, "Why?" I said, "Isn’t this a government office." "Yes," she said. "It’s a county and state office." "Church and state are supposed to be separate," I said politely. Now I could see steam coming out of her ears. "The state is always in the churchs’ business, by not letting us put up The Ten Commandments," she exclaimed. I said, "But you can put up The Ten Commandments as much as you want in your church and home." "We want to put them up out there," she said with a raised voice while pointing outside. Then I guess she ran out of arguments, because she said, "I don’t want to argue with you." I doubt the signs will come down, but I am glad I said what needed to be said.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Comment from Blogger post by Katie Decker:

    GET ‘EM ASHLEY!

  2. Comment from Blogger post by Anonymous

    maybe god does love you….what is offensive about that? i would think you are over-reacting. it’s not like the sign said “turn or burn” … wouldn’t that be something to get your knickers in a knot?

    and i guess that’s the thing about christianity, god still loves you whether you believe or don’t believe and he loves you even if you complain about some ladies stupid attempt to make someone smile for a photo they’re gonna have to look at for the next 5 years…sheesh!

  3. Comment from Blogger post by Ashley

    Hey Anonymous,
    Have you ever heard of the separtation between church and state? This sign was completely inappropriate, so…no I am not over-reacting. God cannot love you, or me, or anybody because he doesn’t exist. We should never see something like this in public. Why didn’t the sign say “Allah loves you” or Zues, Dionisis, Buddah or Muhammad? The sign said “God” with a capital “G”. The capital “G” always makes it the god of the Judeo-Christian belief. I think your comment is just as offensive as the lady who worked in that office.

    Thanks for the comment,
    Ashley


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

