Letter to Mayor of Richmond

January 13, 2006 at 1:48 pm | Posted in Blue Laws | 3 Comments

So I have either been busy or lazy, you decide. I have finally written a letter to the mayor of Richmond, KY about alcohol sales on Sunday. I will drop it in that big blue box tomorrow. It’s time for you to chime in and tell me what you think. After you read the letter please submit a comment. I hope you are enjoying 2006! Here’s the letter.

Mayor Lawson:

Currently in the city of Richmond it is illegal to sell alcohol on Sunday. I think that changing this law would help the city economically. This law causes some business to be closed on Sunday or not sell some of their merchandise. Two-thirds of the United States now permit alcoholic beverage sales on Sunday, which is now the second-busiest shopping day of the week. A law that prohibits commerce does not benefit the city, consumers, or businesses.

The basis for this law comes from "Blue Laws." Blue laws restrict certain activities on Sunday, to accommodate the Christian Sabbath. Not everyone that lives in Madison county is a Christian and this law violates the separation between church and state.

I spoke to the city manager about this issue. He told me that an ordinance must be past by the city for this law to change. I urge you to pass an ordinance and change this outdated and unreasonable law.

Thank you,

James A. Decker

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Comment posted on Blogger by Katie Decker:

    I like it! Short and to the point. You didn’t ramble on about useless information – which will help your cause that much more. Often when you read letters of this nature, they go on forever and ever with all possible ethical and political views addressed. Those type of letters allow the reader to lose sight of the issue at hand and to find more reasons for change to be prohibited. I like you did an excellent job! And furthermore I like your website, even if I don’t agree with all the sited opinions or beliefs. 🙂

  2. Comment posted on Blogger by Katie Decker:

    I wish I would edit prior to hitting submit. I meant to say “I think you did an excellent job!”

  3. Blue laws are annoying, not to mention a blurring of the line between church and state. As a Seventh-Day Adventist Christian who keeps Saturday as the Sabbath, its annoying that I can’t go buy a car or visit other shops on Sundays because of blue laws.

    In your post you state that “Blue laws restrict certain activities on Sunday, to accommodate the Christian Sabbath. Not everyone that lives in Madison county is a Christian and this law violates the separation between church and state.”

    I would amend that statement by saying that not even all Christians who live in Madison county are Sunday-keeping Christians! There are many of us who do not view Sunday as the Sabbath – SDAs and Seventh-Day Baptists being some of the Christian denominations who hold to a more Jewish view of Sabbath being from sundown Friday to sundown Saturday.

    All the best,
    Manon


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

