Sunday Alcohol Sales in Richmond, KY

December 17, 2005 at 2:25 pm | Posted in Blue Laws | Leave a comment

I have been a little lazy about this issue. I had been planning to go to city hall in Richmond to find out why alcohol is not sold on Sunday. I know that the reason is because of those old “blue laws” and it’s the sabbath. I decided to email the city and see how they would respond. After three emails, I received a reply. The city manager called me saying that he had sent messages to me but they were coming back undeliverable. I was not home and he left a message on the answering machine. So, I called him. He said that there was nothing in writing, but this issue has been discussed in Richmond. He said that state law says that it is upto the city to decide if they want to selll alcohol on Sunday or sell it at all. I asked him what would need to be done for this to change. He said that the city must pass an ordinance. I then asked, what I needed to do. He said that I should write a letter to the mayor of Richmond telling her that I would like an ordinance passed to sell alcohol on Sunday. One way or another we must stop these christian laws. If they want to keep christians from buying alcohol on Sunday, that is just fine. I am not a christian, so Sunday is just another day of the week to me. I will write the letter in the next couple of days and send it to the mayor of Richmond. If anyone has ideas about what I should put in the letter, please leave a comment or send an email to: americaninfidel@adelphia.net.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

