Happy Holidays or Merry Christmas?

December 10, 2005 at 2:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Do you ever get tired of christians bitching about people not saying “Merry Christmas”? I sure do. Many christians seem to think that you don’t believe the way that they believe there is something wrong with you. Why do christians get mad when someone says “Happy Holidays”? As an atheist I think it is more appropriate to say Happy Holidays or say nothing about the holidays at all. What if you said Merry Christmas to a person of Jewish or Muslim belief? I don’t think that they would appreciate it. I have also heard christians say, “Remember the reason for the season.” The reason for the season is the “sun” and not the “son.” The Winter Solstice was celebrated this time of the year before Jesus was even supposedly born. I bet they don’t teach that in church! And the christmas tree was also a part of the Winter Solstice tradition and not part of christmas. Maybe christians should do a little research about this holiday they seem to think comes from christian beliefs. On a personal note I no longer celebrate christmas. My wife’s birthday is December 25. I celebrate that day instead. I call it Valarie Day. I still give gifts to people that are close to me. I celebrate New Year’s Eve also. In closing I just want to say, if you want to bitch about history and tradition and how to celebrate, do some research!

These links should help you learn about christmas trees and Winter Solstice:
Wikipedia Entry about christmas trees
Wikipedia Entry about Saturnalia – The Roman Holiday for Winter Solstice

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Comment posted on Blogger by Jessica:

    Hello. good points.
    jessica


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

