Can An Atheist Be Thankful on Thanksgiving?

November 26, 2005 at 2:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Of course! I have lots to be thankful for. The only difference is that I am not thankful to god. I am thankful for the wife and the family that I have. I would not have the same quality of life without them. I even thanked my mother in law today for my wife. For historical reasons, Thanksgiving is a religious holy-day. For my family it is a matter of tradition. At my family’s dinner there was not even a prayer this year. It’s religious because the Pilgrims came here for religious freedom and they were xian. For me, it’s a great reason to get together and eat great food and enjoy our time together. The only bad side to Thanksgiving this year was that one of my closest family members could not be there. Even though this is normally a religious celebration, I think it is still a good reason to remember what is important to you. The fact that this blog or my website has not gotten me burnt at the stake is a good reason to be thankful!

Ashley Decker

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

