Two Christians Knocked On My Door Today

October 4, 2005 at 3:22 pm | Posted in Christians At The Door | Leave a comment

My doorbell rang and I opened the door to find two men in their 70’s or 80’s asking me to go to church with them. I thought, “Oh, this is my lucky day!” We chatted for about 15 minutes. I have to admit it was fun. The only problem I had with our interaction was that they kept telling me that they felt sorry for me. I was very nice. I never said anything offensive and I never attacked what they believed. They were very nice old guys. They kept telling me that I was going to hell. At one point one of them told me that I was not an atheist, because I could change my mind. Change my mind? I asked them if they could change their mind and not believe in god. They said they could not. They told me that when I died I would go to 1 of 2 places, heaven or hell. After explaining my theory of death, I told them that no matter what I did from now until I die, that I could not go to heaven. I told them that I had committed the only sin that would keep me out of heaven. Because I have watch a movie called “The God Who Wasn’t There” I know that if you deny the holy spirit you will not be forgiven. To make it public: I DENY THE HOLY SPIRIT! These guys told me that I would be forgiven anyways. So that I can stop rambling I will just tell you what they said last and my closing statement. They told me that they would pray for me and I said, “I will think for you.” I shook their hands and they left, but they still want me to go to church with them. It appeared that they only came to see me, because they parked in front of my apartment and when they left they did not knock on any other doors. They got in there car and left. There are many apartments here, not just mine. They gave me a brochure about their church, Silver Creek Baptist Church, and a little booklet called “Do You Know For Certain That You Have Eternal Life and That You Will Go To Heaven When You Die?” Just in case you are curious, I’m still an atheist! Good night.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

