News Flash: Non-Believer Speaks At Berea College

September 22, 2005 at 3:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

On Tuesday, September 20, my wife forwarded me an email message. The message title was “Can Atheists Face Death with Tranquility?” — Find out TODAY at 5 p.m. I was shocked because I went to Berea. Berea is a fundy christian college. So we went to hear his lecture. I have to admit that I was expecting a christian to give this lecture. His name is Dr. James Fieser. He spoke of an atheist I had never heard of, David Hume. He tried to answer the question, “Can Atheists Face Death with Tranquility?” by telling Hume’s story. It was an interesting presentation. Dr. Fieser is also a Berea College graduate and a non-believer! I use the word “non-believer” because that is the term that he used. He never mentioned that he was a non-believer until people were asking questions. An old gentleman, (if you want to call him that considering what he said) basically said, “Why does it matter? No one pays attention to atheists anyhow.” This is when Dr. Fieser said that he was a non-believer. The old guy didn’t say anymore. At the end of the lecture I went up to him and thanked him for coming. I told him that I was also an atheist and a Berea graduate. He seemed surprised.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

