Atheists Do Not Believe In God

July 14, 2005 at 4:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Here is a topic that bothers me from time to time. I read a story at IIDB about an atheist that was told by a xian (christian) that he was not an atheist, but agnostic because god exists. (You can read the story at Internet Infidels if you want.) Why do xians make such absurd statements? Another one of those wacko statements is “If you are an atheist, then you believe in god because atheists deny god.” If you believe or don’t believe something you don’t need to be told what you think and believe. Xians seem to want to turn things around in order to confuse people. I guess they think that the confusion will somehow make you believe in god and be “born-again.” I’m sure this happened to me many times, but here is a recent story. I recently quit my part-time job at a local business, but not because of this story. The owner and I got along great, but his wife was often another story. I started working there back when I was in college, so I worked there for about 5 or 6 years. One night not too long before I quit I was having a nice conversation with the owner’s wife. The conversation somehow became about my life. I stated that I thought that my life had changed a lot. In the last few years I have stopped partying every weekend and I quit smoking. Now I still drink some, but whether or not that is wrong is a different story. I have gotten married in the last year and I am very happy with my life now. This is where she caused the conversation to turn in a different direction. She told me that there was another change I needed to make in my life. I was a little confused, but maybe I set myself up for this without knowing it. She told me that I needed to go to church. After several years of her being rude to me on occasion, I was not going to let her put my beliefs down. I said, “But why would I go to church, I’m an atheist.” Now up until this point I had never told the owner or his wife that I was an atheist. The reason I had not told them was because I have so much respect for the owner. And believe it or not I have respect for his wife, but she asked for this. At this point she begins to tell me about the definition of the word atheist. Dictionary.com’s definition of atheist is: One who disbelieves or denies the existence of God or gods. I guess she just completely ignores the “disbelieves” part of that definition. She told me that I deny god, so that means that I believe in god. Even after I told her that it didn’t matter what definition she preferred, the truth was that I do not believe in god. She went on and on for awhile making some weird statements. One of them was that “Jesus walks with me everyday.” After that I was real serious and I came up with something clever to say. I said, “So what you are saying is that you want me to have an imaginary friend?” I expected her to go crazy at that point, but she looked at me like she had no clue what I was talking about. I actually had to explain to her what I meant. Then she explained to me that god was not imaginary. I don’t remember her reasons, because it was so funny that she had no idea what I was talking about by calling her god an imaginary friend. No matter how a xian tries to change the definition of the word atheist or try to tell you what you believe, if you are an atheist – you don’t believe in god. Atheists can have many different ideas. I am sure that I would not agree with every atheist on every issue. But we have a common belief. The rest is not important. There is no doctorine or dogma for atheism.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

